Beeeeeeeen Sah-lahd

Or you know, bean salad. Delicious, delicious spicy mustard bean salad.

Waaay back in 2009 when I was a vegetarian, I had this delicious bean salad at a friends house. It was awesome. I can never replicate it though because I always buy the wrong beans, forget the jalapenos, mush the avocado or something just goes wrong. But I always try! And it’s usually pretty okay anyway. This time around I hit on a really good variation though. I thought I’d share the original and then the variation because both are just a fantastic side dishes. Or snacks. Or whole meals. Whatever.

It’s pretty much the easiest thing on the planet and can be modified left and right. It’s also hella delicous; sweet at first, and tangy in all the right places, with a punch in the gut sometimes. Like those girls that always get the cute nerdy boys in the movies. The Juno/Ramona Flowers/Norah type (or as Geeks of Doom calls them: Manic Pixie Dream Girls).

Anyway before that though, it’s time for some Real Talk: While I was making this I chopped a jalapeno (Jah-la-pen-yo… because it’s funny that way). I was super careful not to touch any of my face. After I had finished, I washed my hands (probably just rinsed though) and promptly forget I had been chopping a jalapeno. Then I put my finger in my nose to mess with my nose ring (it’s been giving me some serious grief lately. Probably because I switched from a ring to a stud). I think you know where I’m going with this. It didn’t stop burning until I stuck a q-tip with milk on it up my nose. Seriously. My life. So, uh, I’ll just continue with the recipes now that I’ve talked about my nose. Enjoy!

Heidi’s Szechaun Black Eyed Pea Salad

2 14 oz. cans black-eyed peas
1 medium green bell pepper, chopped
1/2 c. chopped red onion
1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and finely minced, 2 Tbsp. (I usually just do the canned variety)
1 clove garlic, minced
1 avocado, cubed
2 Tbsp lemon juice
1/4 c. olive oil
3 Tbsp red wine vinegar
1 Tbsp Szechuan sauce (for some reason I can’t find any at our stores so I just use stir fry sauce)
2 tsp sugar

Toss together black-eyed peas, bell pepper, onion, jalapeno, and garlic in large bowl. Toss avocado with lemon juice in a separate bowl. Add avocado to black-eyed pea mixture. Whisk together oil, vinegar, Szechuan sauce, and sugar in bowl used for avocado. Toss black-eyed pea mixture with Szechuan sauce dressing.

Hannah’s Spicy Mustard Bean Salad

2 14 oz cans of beans of your choice; though I’d stay away from black beans and kidney beans… I used pinto and white northern beans I believe but it’s really up to you.
1 medium red bell pepper, chopped
1/2 chopped red onion, (this seems like a lot of onion to others. Maybe cut down on it if you’re not a huge onion fan like me… spring onions might work well for a milder taste)
1 or 2 jalapeno peppers, seeded and finely minced, (I did a big chop on mine because I like biting jalapenos)
2 Tbsp lemon juice (I might ditch this next time? Give it a try without it and and then add it. Let me know which was better in the comments!)
1/4 c. olive oil
3 Tbsp rice vinegar
3 Tbsp Spicy Mustard (Or a mustard of your choice; you should also do this by taste because I started with a tablespoon or so and ended up with three but you might like more or less, same with the vinegar)

Toss together beans, bell pepper, onion and jalapeno in large bowl. Whisk together oil, vinegar, lemon juice, and mustard in a separate bowl. Pour over beans and veggies and mix gently with a spatula.

Leave a Reply

