Meyer Lemon Pudding Cake

I’ve been gone awhile. Sorry! School started again, I got more hours at work and my mom has been around cooking so I don’t have to. Life: it doesn’t always allow time for things like lemon pudding cake. Today though… I have all the time in the world. Okay. Not really. But time enough to make this fantastic lemony breakfast dessert.

I woke up this morning fully intending to make lemon ginger meringues…. and then I was lazy and made a Lemon Pudding Cake instead. It’s delicious. I ate half the pan. So much for dieting.

I love lemons. Lemon water, lemon flavored vodka, limoncello, lemon sponge pie (which is not what I made, but my mom made some the other day), lemon icing, lemon poppyseed muffins, lemon, lemons lemons. Even the word lemons is delicious. Leeeehhh-mons. This cake though? It’s heaven.

It’s spongy and pudding-y and would go excellent with vanilla ice cream if I had some. It glows; in that bright cheerful sunshiney way that all things with lemon do. It definitely makes my wintery day a little less wintery feeling. It’s awesome. You should make it.

I’m sweet and tart! Just like this mostly empty bag of lemons!

I was slightly intimidated by this recipe just because I’d never made it before and I usually suck at beating egg whites into peaks (hence the meringues. I need practice). So I broke out the stand mixer. It was actually really easy. Meringues will be a piece of cake now (haha). Here’s the recipe!

Meyer Lemon Pudding Cake

3 Meyer Lemons (I actually had three and a half)
3/4 Cup Sugar
1/4 Cup Flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
3 large eggs, seperated
1 cup whole milk at room temp (mine was not at room temp)
4 tablespoons butter, melted and cooled (the cooling is important because you don’t want the eggs to cook)
1. Preheat oven to 300˚ F, butter or spray with Pam and 8×8-inch baking pan
2. Finely grate 2 teaspoons zest and then squeeze 1/3 cup juice from the lemons. Set aside.
3. Combine dry ingrediants. Whisk together yolks, milk, butter, lemon zest and juice. Add to flour mixture and whisk to combine.
4. Beat egg whites until soft peaks form. Stir 1/3 of the egg whites into batter to lighten; gently fold in remaining whites (batter will be thin).
5. Pout into prepared baking dish; bake until golden about 30 to 40 minutes. Serve warm or at room temperature.

4 thoughts on “Meyer Lemon Pudding Cake

Leave a Reply

