Lamb Curry and Brown Rice

I was a vegetarian full time for six years with a few periods of full out vegan in there too. Six years and I gave it up for a chicken nugget. Okay, that’s a lie. I ate a chicken nugget for my “first” meat (actually 6, and then 3 chicken strips. Bad idea. Never again.). But I really gave up veg*n for moose meat, lamb, the ability to travel and taste cool ethnic foods, to try and live a more traditional subsistence lifestyle.

Anyway, my mom thinks it’s funny that I like lamb… because I was a veg*n for so long. Like, now that I’m not, I can’t enjoy a good cut of lamb? I think it has to do with the baby part. I dunno. She won’t eat it. My brother doesn’t eat it either. Freaks. One time she even sat across from me at a restaurant and made faces as I ate a gyro. Whatever. I do what I want.

 

I’ve had this cut of meat in my freezer for awhile just waiting for a full day off and the perfect recipe. Which I found by googling “lamb recipes”. I kid you not. It was the first or second search result and as soon as I read the title I wanted to eat it. So I did. I do what I want.

 

Unfortunately I forgot to put the rice in the rice cooker before I started to cook. Now I have to wait for my rice to cook while my delicious lamb curry sits and gets cold. Live and learn.

I did make a few modifications to the recipe. I used shallots instead of onions and couldn’t find my cumin so I used coriander. I dunno if that’ll work but according to the internet it will.

Here’s the recipe!

Lamb Curry

1 tablespoon olive oil
2 cups boneless lamb, cubed
1 medium onion, chopped
2 cups chicken broth
1 clove garlic, minced
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon butter
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
2 teaspoons curry powder
½ teaspoon ground cumin

Directions:

1) Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high. Add lamb and cook until browned on all sides, turning occasionally, about 6 minutes.

2) Add onion to skillet; cook until softened, about 4 minutes, stirring. Add garlic and cook 1 minute. Add flour, butter, vegetable oil, curry, and cumin; cook until fragrant, whisking to mix, about 2 minutes.

3) Add broth and bring to a boil over high heat; reduce to a simmer and cook until lamb is cooked through, about 15 minutes. Serve warm.

Recipe from here.

Leave a Reply

